Parents…Let’s get our beds back


http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/Sleep/kids-bed-sleep-intervention/story?id=9993668

I use to be that parent who woke up almost every hour to a screaming child. My middle child…let’s call him “the boy”, that is actually the name he gave himself. We will talk about that later. My son, “the boy” has always been very attached to me and this made bedtime very difficult. He slept in our bed most nights because I didn’t want to go back and forth from our room to his room. Looking back now I realize that giving in was a big mistake. After what seemed like years of fighting, bribing and begging we now have a sleep routine that works.

My goal most days is to keep him very busy by playing games, running in the yard if the weather works for us. I no longer let him nap and we all have a regular wake up time everyday even on weekends. The nap thing is not always easy since we now have an infant in the house.  We give him extra workout time in the evening to burn more energy and he is usually out like a light minutes after him and I sing his song. Yes, we do a story time after our Bible study and then we sing his song before he goes to sleep. The song routine gets kind of old some nights  since we can’t sing any other song besides “Jingle Bells”. The fact of the matter is that it really doesn’t matter what song, I am just happy that he sleeps in his room and I don’t wake up with a stiff neck because “the boy” took over my side on the bed.

One Response

  1. “I believe in the compelling power of love. I do not understand it. I believe it to be the most fragrant blossom of all this thorny existence.” ~ Theodore Dreiser

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

