Christmas…Who is it about? Santa or Jesus?


I know that many of you are going to be upset with me for saying some of what I am about to say but it has to be said. Have you noticed how Christmas has become such a commercialized holiday that stores start to set up right after Halloween. Why do parents continue to lie to their children about Santa Clause? Do people even remember the true meaning behind Christmas? If so, why aren’t they teaching their children about it? These are topics that I want to talk about in this post.

I remember growing up in Gaithersburg, Maryland and how excited I got right around Thanksgiving because I knew that Christmas time was coming up. There was something magical about Christmas back then. I guess the point that I am trying to convey here is that the magical feeling I used to get around Christmas time has been sucked out by businesses trying to get a lead on their competitors. It would be so nice if we put away our desire to exploit our saviors birth and focus on the meaning of the season. I love Christmas and have always loved that we have a day designated to celebrate Jesus Christ.

The other thing I want to discuss is why so many parents keep lying to their children about Santa Clause. Please understand that I think the concept behind a jolly old man wanting to lighten up the lives of children all over the world is a great idea. I take issue with the Santa Clause idea because parents tell such elaborate lies to their children. I was raised to be honest at all times and as a parent I try very hard to teach my children the basics of  honesty. My husband and I both agreed  early on in our relationship that we will be honest with our children. So, when our oldest child asked us about Santa, we sat her down and explained to her that he is a fictional character. We taught her that Christmas is not about getting presents but instead of Jesus Christ and him being the greatest present God sent us. Is it easy to teach children about the meaning of Christmas? No, I say this because they go to school and hear otherwise and it is an ongoing process with us but we are committed to raising honest children. I also find it odd that people say they want to raise good children but then turn around and lie to them about where all their cool and very expensive toys came from. I  think it would be great for children to be taught that parents work very hard for the things they get. Here is novel idea, let your children know that you bought their gifts because you love them. I have a feeling that children will have more respect for their parents. I also think that they will appreciate those presents more.

I will like to finish this post with one last point. I am asking anyone who reads this to stop and think about the money they have spent on presents. Now, could you have used that for something else? Like, helping a needy family that is about to lose their home or that family without food, electricity and warm clothes to wear. I know it is your hard earn money and that you can spend it anyway you want. I am also asking you to please take time to have a simple discussion with your children about Christmas and why they should celebrate Jesus’ birth. Jesus’  birth is one of the greatest gifts we have ever received and we should be teaching our children about the significance of that day. 

Thank you for stopping by and reading, I hope you find something meaningful in this post that you can incorporate into your lives as parents.

 

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

