Things Motherhood Has Taught Me


Becoming a mom at a young age was very scary for me since my mom and I are not very close. I remember daydreaming years before I got married about what life would be like as a mom and a wife. My husband and I got married when I was a senior in college and our daughter was born not too long after I graduated.  We were both very young and naive in so many ways. I knew that I wanted the very best for my baby and I was willing to work my tail off to give her everything I lacked as a child. With that idea in mind, I was willing to sacrifice myself in everyday to give my baby what she wanted and needed.  This desire to be “super mom” as I now see it led me to baking, sewing, baby book making, writing baby journals and so much more. I did all of that to make sure that my baby had a childhood that they can look back on and be very happy about. The only problem is that I let my need to give my daughter a great life consume me so much that I lost my identity as a person. I did not realize this until my third baby was born. My last pregnancy was risky according to my doctors and I needed to deliver several weeks earlier than my due date. After it was all said and done, I found out that I had over worked my self with cleaning, cooking meals ahead, doing laundry for everyone in advance, and doing basically everything on my to do a list to make sure that everyone was comfortable when I was in the hospital giving birth. It wasn’t until I had to be rushed back to the hospital for extremely high blood pressure that I realize that I needed a break. So it has been 13 months now since I gave birth to our third and final child. I have spent a lot of time writing and thinking, Below are the major lessons I have learned so far.

1. My children will be okay even if my house is not spotless.

2. Stop and kiss a boo-boo when it is needed, don’t ask a child to wait for a kiss NEVER!

3. It’s ok to eat junk food once in a while if it means I get to have more play time with my munchkins.

4. There is nothing wrong asking for help, when it is needed.

5. Taking a long ride to clear your mind should be part of the mommy job requirement.

6. Finding or creating a child free zone in your home doesn’t mean you hate your children, it just means that you need alone time once in a while.

7. You can never say ” I love you” enough, so say it every time you get a chance to.

8. Story time/Bible study/ song time is one of the best way to summarize your child’s day.

9. Getting my children in planning our weekly menus really helps encourage good eating habits.

10. The most important lesson I have learned so far is the God will never fail me as a parent. I can go to God when I feel overwhelmed and he always gives me the patience and understanding I need to be the parent my children deserve.

** Yes, I know that was  a lot but I really feel that we as moms sometimes get lost in wanting everything to be perfect that we sometimes miss out on great bonding moments with out children and I am so glad that God has given me the ability to see my errors as a parent. I thank you for stopping by and for reading. I hope that you find something meaningful and helpful during this visit 🙂 **

 

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

