Liver and Onions


Ingredients

  • 1 pound sliced beef liver
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 large Vidalia onions, sliced into rings
  • 1 large green bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 large tomato, thinly sliced
  • 1 stalk of celery, thinly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • low sodium salt

Directions

  1. Gently rinse liver slices under cold water, and place in a medium bowl. Combine buttermilk with black pepper, salt, cayenne pepper and parsley in a small bowl. Pour in enough buttermilk  mixture to cover. Let stand while preparing onions. (I like to soak up to an hour or two – whatever you have time for.) This step is SO important in taking the bitter taste of the liver out.
  2. Melt  1/2 the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Place onion, pepper, celery and saute them in butter until soft. Remove onion mixture, and melt remaining butter in the skillet.
  3. When the butter has melted, turn the heat up to medium-high, and place the marinated liver slices in the pan. Cook until nice and brown on the bottom. Turn, and cook on the other side until browned. Add onion mixture with the buttermilk marinade, and reduce heat to medium. Cook it until it is to your desire temperature. I like mine to be well done so it took a little longer to cook my meal. I cooked some yellow rice to go along with the liver.
  4. This was a “mommy meal” since I know my family. I was pleasantly surprise when my two oldest asked if they could try my liver as they ate their chicken dinner. They actually liked how I prepared the liver. My husband on the other hand is not a fan of liver. I would have taken a picture of the meal but I forgot to but I will take a picture of it tomorrow since I made enough for more than one meal.

I thank you for stopping by and for reading. I hope that you find something meaningful and helpful during this visit 🙂

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

