Toasted Pecan Spinach Salad


Ingredients

  • 8 large eggs
  • 6 cups baby spinach
  • 4 tablespoons Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing, divided
  • 1 8-ounce can beets, rinsed and sliced
  • 1 cup carrots, shredded
  • 2 tablespoons chopped pecans, toasted

Preparation

  1. Place eggs in a single layer in a saucepan; cover with water. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook at the lowest simmer for 10 minutes. Pour off the hot water and run cold water over the eggs until they are completely cooled. Peel the eggs, discard 6 of the yolks, chop the remaining yolks and whites.
  2. Toss spinach and 2 tablespoons dressing in a large bowl. Divide between 2 plates. Top with chopped eggs, beets, carrots and pecans. Drizzle with the remaining 2 tablespoons dressing.

Nutrition

Per serving: 300 calories; 13 g fat ( 3 g sat , 6 g mono ); 216 mg cholesterol; 26 g carbohydrates; 22 g protein; 8 g fiber; 823 mg sodium; 592 mg potassium.

Nutrition Bonus: Vitamin A (240% daily value), Folate (35% dv), Vitamin C (30% dv), Calcium (15% dv).

Carbohydrate Servings: 1

Exchanges: 4 vegetable, 2 lean meat, 1 1/2 fat

 

* If you ever wonder why I don’t use my own recipes, it is because I didn’t grow up eating or cooking typical westernized foods. I grew up in a traditional Sierra  Leonean household and that means  a majority of our foods were prepared the African way. I started cooking American style foods when I went off to college because it was hard finding all the ingredients I needed for the African dishes I was used to. I  love finding new and exciting recipes to try, my husband and children seem to appreciate it for now. Well I better get off this computer, it is way past my bedtime. Wishing you all a great night and a wonderful day depending on your location in the world. I thank you for stopping by and for reading. I hope that you find something meaningful and helpful during this visit 🙂

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

