Trophy Society


So a friend and I were talking earlier during our Bible study about some of the current parenting trends going on in today’s society. We both noticed how so many parents are so into nurturing their children’s self esteem that they are now turning them into self-centered, self entitled spoiled brats. Yes, I said it spoiled brats. Whatever happened to children earning rewards, allowances and trophies? It really bothers me when children in a sports team are given participation awards just for being a part of the team even when they lose. As a person who has worked in the mental health field I do understand that children should be given emotional support but I find it frustrating that so many parents just let their children behave any way they want without fear of being reprimanded. Back in the day when I was a little girl and that wasn’t so long ago, I remember having rules, limits and standards at home. I knew there were consequences for my actions and that helped me in the way I behaved and the choices I made when I was home and away from home.

I am writing this to give some parents a wake up call. Telling your child that they made a mistake doesn’t make you a bad parent. Saying no to your child every once in a while will actually do them more good than harm. please stop and pay attention to your parenting choices because your children are counting on you to help guide them into becoming responsible and respectful members of society. Okay, this is my first official rant of 2013 and I have a pretty good feeling that I will have some more.

Well, I better get back to my munchkins. I thank you for stopping by and for reading. I hope that you find something meaningful and helpful during this visit 🙂

 

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

