Family Traditions: Birthday Week


So growing up we didn’t celebrate birthdays in my household and so it was never a big deal for me. My husband grew up celebrating every birthday and he didn’t really understand where I was coming from. I decided to side with my husband and embrace the birthday spirit and began celebrating birthdays years ago and now I am what some would call a birthday fanatic. Well, I don’t go crazy over my birthday…just my children’s and hubby’s birthdays. So out of my excitement I accidentally came up a family tradition a few years ago and my family loves it.

I came up with the idea of letting the birthday person in our household to create their ideal menu for a week. Yes, it sounds insane when you have little ones because they will pick junk food for entire week. At first it scared me to even say it but now it is the norm, I got out of my way to research meal ideas that each person in our home would like and then present it to them so they can create their menu. This past November my son had the pleasure of picking his menu and here is what he picked and yes, I made all of these.

These are not in order because I can’t remember: Pizza, hot dogs and fries, homemade hamburger with sweet potato fries (I think), spaghetti and meatballs and chicken nuggets with fries. I am really hoping that my daughter goes with a much healthier menu for a her birthday week since I am trying to lose more weight.

I love our birthday tradition because we get to celebrate each person’s birthday all week instead of just one day. We do songs and say something special on each day and each person gets to wear a crown around the house just for fun. I am looking forward to mine this year since my youngest and I share a birthday week, we get to combine our menu and she loves fruit right now and so that should work well with  everyone. Well, I better get going since I have tons of reading to do for school and night-time is the only time I can get any school work done.

I thank you for stopping by and for reading. I hope that you find something meaningful and helpful during this visit 🙂

 

 

 

your feedback is appreciated!!!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Fashion for the average man

Men's style and fashion advice

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

