This week’s awesome mom is…Mbalu Sankoh Bangura “aka” My grandma


There is so much to be said about my grandma, Mbalu Sankoh Bangura. She was the first person I called mom, she was there for my first smile, my first tooth, my first step, the first time I read a book and my first day of school. My grandma and I, were very close and I feel so honored that I was named after her. My grandma was the youngest in her family, her mother died when she was just a child and was raised by her older sisters and father. I did not get the opportunity to meet any of her sisters but I was able to visit the town and home she grew up in and it was amazing. Now, I will give you a few details about why she is and will always be my role model. My grandmother never went to school but that did not stop her from learning to read and write. I can still remember her reading the Bible to us and explaining it as well. She loved to read and she instilled her love of reading in me before she passed away. My grandma also taught me that it is best to give than to receive and I will never forget how we used to pack up our extra clothes for those less fortunate than us. My grandma made me believe that I can do anything that I put my mind to and that is a gift I will forever be thankful for. She died young because of a brain tumor and I will always treasure our short time together and the memories we created. Thank you grandma for teaching me that your past does not have to limit where you can go. I selected my grandmother for this week because she taught me to be thankful.

your feedback is appreciated!!!

Meagan Says

It's all about the journey

Homemade Delish

Creativity, Style and Taste

coutureconditioning

Just another WordPress.com site

Adoption Search and Reunion

Susan Beckman, Author